icogit8

Social Media in the Classroom

Blind Contour Drawing #4

Leave a comment

I went to get my haircut today at Victoria’s Tavern (great French Onion Soup there btw).  While waiting for my turn in the barbers chair I thought I would try drawing something from their walls as they are covered with little artifact relevant to pub life.  I settled on the trumpet…challenging.

I have to admit that I don’t remember much from the drawing process, but I do remember the strange looks of the other patrons as I stared up at the wall.  Cortney was drawing a wood railing at the same time as I was engrossed in the trumpet and I can only imagine the theories on why these two people were staring off, seemingly into the distance, and scribbling at the same time.  I would like to think that they would have seen the drawing process occurring, but I’m pretty sure that most thought we were crazy…I mean who draws without looking?

The final product is ok, but i found the movement from round to straight lines a difficult transition and it distorted the dimensions.  The change in perspective on version 2 and 3 also proved very challenging and the third version kind of blended into the shelf the instrument was sitting on.

*There is a barber shop above the pub…you were probably thinking I was crazy to get my haircut at a pub…

Trumpet 1

Trumpet 2

Trumpet 3

Author: 2014shaunhorsman

Teacher seeking to better implement and understand the role of technology in the classroom... and outside the classroom.

Leave a Reply

